Hiring Our Heroes

I watch the today show religiously. Every morning from around 8am until 8:45/9:00 I spend my morning with Matt, Ann, Al and Natalie. They provide just the right amount of news, weather and of course, gossip. It is a great way to start my day and is many times, where I get ideas for blog posts. One of my life goals, along with riding on a float in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade, is to be on the Today Show.

Back in June, and then again in September, when we (Robin Hood) were hosting the massive 60,000 person Black Eyed Peas concert in Central Park, we was getting a lot of press. I thought for sure that one morning I would turn on the tv and see my friends chatting about the concert and the incredible poverty-fighting work that Robin Hood supports. Sadly it never came.

But the past few weeks, I could feel something brewing…

For the past few weeks, Ann has been highlighting  “Hiring Our Heroes” a nationwide initiative to help veterans and military spouses find meaningful employment.  By partnering with a network of 1600 state and local chambers and other strategic partners from the public, private, and non-profit sectors, Hiring Our Heroes hopes to create a movement across America in hundreds of local communities where veterans and military families return every day.

This morning the show broadcasted aboard New York City’s USS Intrepid, which is hosting a Hiring Our Heroes job fair today. During the broadcast, Ann interviewed both Mayor Bloomberg and Dr. Jill Biden about their involvement in this mission. During the interview, Mayor Bloomberg gave Robin Hood a shout out for all the work we’ve done over the past year, specifically geared toward helping New York City veterans (at 2:45)

Vodpod videos no longer available.
It is pretty incredible to hear the Mayor of New York City mention your work on national television,  especially when you are part of the communications team! Of course, it just so happened to be on the ONE day when I actually didn’t watch the Today Show. Oh well – more fuel to make it happen again.