525,600 Minutes

“How do you measure, measure a year?

“In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights
In cups of coffee
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.”

One year from today, I will be marrying Matt. After more than 9 years of dating, this is a big deal! I decided that this was a cause worth celebrating and woke him up nice and early this morning to celebrate. Obviously Matt was thrilled with this decision. The problem was, I didn’t know what to call this “non-anniversary.”

when I got to work this morning I  googled “what is the opposite of anniversary.” Unfortunately nothing of worth come up in the search results. Thankfully, I have a sister who is smarter than google! Below is the text I received from her this morning:

I know that a traditional wedding gift for 1st anniversary is paper, a 10th anniversary is tin and for a 15th anniversary it is crystal. Unfortunately google doesn’t show results for -1 anniversary gifts. I think it must be something like an iPad, a puppy or a shopping spree at Lululemon! I personally think those would all make great gifts. Most couples would just now be getting engaged, and the diamond ring would probably suffice as a present, but Matt, “unfortunately you screwed yourself” and proposed way too early!

I think we will spend the weekend celebrating with a trip to Bed, Bath and Beyond to start our registry. I just hope that after that, we are still planning on getting married!