DIY: Garland

Sometimes I run out of PMA (positive mental attitude). I am not sure if I use it all up, or if so many frustrating things occur that they take away from my ability to be positive. Whatever the case, today was one of those days.

Starting off a Monday tired is never a good thing. Even after a weekend of relaxation away from the city, the stresses of the past few weeks are taking a toll. I trudged through the day and some how made it to 4pm. I was scared that I wasn’t going to have something positive to blog about today, but when I got home I decided to take matters into my own hands.

My normal defense against NMA (negative mental attitude) is to work out. Unfortunately, things were so bad that I had zero motivation to go for a run, even though it was extremely nice outside. Sitting on the couch, I saw my craft corner beckoning me to sit at it, and make something. I was inspired by my Grandma and Aunt this weekend with their own craft areas. I decided that the only thing that was going to pull me out of my funk was some creative crafting!

I decided to brainstorm and practice ideas for my next trip to the hospital for “Sewtastic with Molly.” I still have vellum paper remaining from my last project and decided to create something similar to the mobiles since they were such a big hit. Instead of hanging the cut out paper in a vertical line, I made a garland, which hangs the paper horizontally. I cut out various shapes (I used a cookie cutter for the stars) and then sewed them together  with white thread. The result was a 4th of July themed garland.

While my bad mood isn’t entirely gone, the act of creating something fun from paper and thread helps. It also doesn’t hurt that I was the lucky recipient of a dinner visit from my sister :) I am certainly going to miss our weekly visits when she moves. But I am thankfully for the time we did live in the same city. And now I have an excuse to get out of the city for weekend visits to see her!

RETRACTION

I am beyond mortified. I have to submit a retraction to my OWN blog.

Last night when I was going to bed, I sat straight up and realized that I had made a mistake… and a big one.

In my post yesterday I posted that my Grandfather was 92 years old. Well, on June 1st, 2010 he turned 91, not 92. And he doesn’t look a day over 85!

So my sincere apologies to Mr. Robert Glennan. It will never happen again!