Grab a Slice

New York City is known for the Statue of Liberty, Central Park, Broadway theater, and of course, pizza. There are many places that claim to have the best pizza in NYC. Some are thin crust, others Chicago style; Sicilian and wood oven fired. Most people have heard of Famous Original Ray’s Pizza which is on nearly every corner in the city and of course, Lombardi’s, who claims to be America’s first full-fledged pizzeria. I have yet to visit Grimaldi’s which serves  coal oven pizza from their location underneath the Brooklyn bridge. Of all of the places that I have been to, my favorite is definitely Bleeker Street Pizza.

However, a more un-know pizza spot, Kornet, located on the way upper west side (111th street) has provided me with some of the best memories of my time in NYC.

My sister introduced me to this place which is a favorite of Columbia students, especially after a late night out. When she first told me about it, I couldn’t believe her description on the pizza. In her own words, she said “the pizza is as big as your head.” For an English major with a vast vocabulary, I was slightly concerned that this was the best way she could think of to describe the pizza; however, after experiencing it myself, she couldn’t have been more right.

Well, maybe she could have been… after a visit this week, she decided to change her description to: “pizza as big as a baby.”

Please feel free to let me know of any good pizza places in New York that you think I should try!