Going to the doctors

Today I went to the hospital, where a doctor gave me a very thorough examination to determine what was wrong with me. After listening to my heartbeat and breathing, she followed up by taking my temperature and blood pressure. It was decided then that I must have multiple vials of blood extracted from my body. After sterilizing the area where the needle would be inserted with multiple alcohol wipes, it was time. My doctor prepared me for this by telling me that it was going to hurt, but that I needed to be brave. After each needle prick, she told me how brave I was and what a good patient I was being. It ended with a leopard-print band-aid and lollipop.

My doctor was an 8-year-old girl who has been in and out of the hospital for the past 2 years of her life.

Once a week I volunteer in the pediatric ward of a local hospital for a few hours after work. Today happened to be one of those days.